Give Your Child This And Watch Your Relationship Grow

the children beg for bread, but no one gives it to them…. (La 4:4).

Yesterday, my daughter and I were playing. One of the ways I feel most connected to her is when we’re doing something active together. The shared smile we have with each other, to me, is priceless. As her face lights up, so does mine as we enjoy a shared experience together.

I try to be very conscious of making sure to give my daughter not just my time and energy, but my full eye contact. Something happens when we lock eyes. Trust and love is being built. Those shared moments are creating something between us that God is building into something great.

I have to be careful though, because my phone can steal so much of my eye contact towards her. Sometimes I’ll make quick glances only to return back to my phone, but she needs me with her, not me there, but somewhere else.

Friend, I cannot stress this enough. Our children need our attention. They need our eye contact and presence. If we are not giving that to them, then we have neglected to give them our hearts. When we give them those parts of us, it grows their confidence and love for others. It softens them. It makes them feel deeply safe and secure.

So if you do anything today, offer your child one thing- your eye contact. Be present with them, not walking just beside them, but looking into them, offering them your heart.

Lord, I want to be a mother, friend, wife and daughter who is present. Forgive me when I become so distracted that I don’t offer my full presence. Make me more like you, I pray, in Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a comment