Manage Your Life Well

Now when King David heard about all these things, he was very angry [but failed to take any action]. (2 Samuel 13:21)

The other day I was officiating a basketball game and I didn’t manage it as well as I could have.

The coaches behavior was getting out of hand. The disrespectful comments started to pile up on one another. I tried ignoring the coach, but ignoring the situation didn’t make it go away.

Finally, at the end of the game I issued a technical foul after the buzzer sounded for a completely uncalled for and disrespectful comment directed towards me and my crew. I realized though, after the game, that I should have taken care of the disrespectful comments sooner. I can’t just ignore a problem coach. I must address them sooner than later.

This is true in life as well. If we ignore our problems they don’t just go away. In fact, they get worse.

Earlier in the game I had administration remove a fan from the contest. I asked the AD at halftime if he felt like it was unnecessary. He said, “Yes, it would have just gotten worse.” He’s right. If we don’t remove the problems and sinful habits in our lives they will just get worse. Ignoring them, pretending like it’s not that big of a deal or just feeling as though you can handle it without the help of God or others is a recipe for disaster.

If we don’t manage our lives and our sin well it will take us out of the game. Truly, it will. That’s what a coach with constant disrespectful comments starts to do to me as an official, because I’m just not as focused. I’m dealing instead with an unhelpful distraction. Friend, remove whatever is causing you to stay in the game with God. He’s got an important role for you to play and so manage your life well. Your health and longevity in ministry and life depends on it.

God loves you and wants good things for you. We will face much trouble in this world and by the power of God, we can overcome.

Lord, help me to walk by faith. Not in darkness or lies. Help me to see my sin before it gets out of hand. I want to stay in the game and manage things well for your glory. Help me to do that now, I pray, in Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a comment